Student Networking and Inter-Professional Sessions
Centre for Remote Health

The Centre for Remote Health hosts regular Student Networking and Inter-Professional Sessions (SNIPS) for students and other interested professionals from all health related disciplines. 

The aim is to present information on an area that students may be interested in, focussing on inter-professional, person centred care.  It is also an opportunity to network with students from other areas and other universities and to share placement experiences. Sessions are generally held fortnightly and are open to all students in any area of health from any university. Bookings are not required.

Session Locations
Alice Springs: Centre for Remote Health, Cnr Simpson & Skinner Streets, Alice Springs
Tennant Creek: Tennant Creek Hospital, Education Room (via Video Conference)
Katherine: Katherine Hospital (via Video Conference)

For all enquiries including receiving program updates or presenting SNIPS sessions contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  Tel: 08 8951 4700

View past sessions  2017 SNIPS | 2016 SNIPS

Date Time Topic Presenter
Thu 8 Feb 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Working in a Community Development
environment - A Practical Experience (210 KB)
Gwen Troutman-Weir
Community Development Lecturer
Thu 22 Feb 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Infectious Diseases in Central Australia (213 KB) Danny Tsai, Rural Pharmacy Liaison Officer
Thu 8 Mar 3:00pm - 4:30pm Occupations: It’s what we do.
Understanding people’s daily occupations
and life roles
Hayley Curtis
Occupational Therapist
Alice Springs Hospital
Thu 22 Mar 3:00pm - 4:30pm  pdf Nutrition in Central Australia
including the role of the dietitian;
food security; malnutrition (290 KB)
Siobhan Carr
Clinical Dietitian
Alice Springs Hospital
Thu 19 Apr 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf HTLV-1 what is it and what I need to know about it (211 KB) Lloyd Einsiedel, Baker Institute 
Thu 17 May 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Ear and Hearing Problems in Central Australia: Why it is Everyone's Business (213 KB) Rebecca Allnutt, Manager Hearing Services and Sally-Jayne Wallz
Thu 31 May 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Aboriginal people: the backbone not in the backseat in service provision (211 KB) Dr Rosalie Schultz, PhD Candidate Flinders University
Thu 14 Jun 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Oral Health and Overall Health - The Link (211 KB) Conor Harnischfeger, Senior Dentist Manager
Central Australia Health Service
Thu 28 Jun 3:00pm - 4:30pm Applying a problem solving approach to behaviours Lowell Wood, Services coordinator
Dementia Australia & Dementia Training Australia
Thu 26 Jul 12:30pm - 1:30pm pdf The Fulbright Experience: There's more I could say (582 KB)
Professor Tim Carey, Director, Centre for Remote Health
Thu 9 Aug 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Health Literacy. What does it mean in Central Australia (211 KB) Associate Professor Kerry Taylor
Poche Centre NT
Thu 23 Aug 3:00pm - 4:30pm pdf Encrusted Scabies Detection and Management (205 KB) Sharon Troncoso and Irene O'Meara, One Disease
Wed 5 Sep 3:00pm - 4:30pm Holistic care needs of people with Diabetes in Central Australia  Greg Solomon (SoLi)
Diabetes CNC, Central Australia Health Service
Thu 20 Sep 3:00pm - 4:30pm  **stay tuned for more sessions **  
Thu 4 Oct 3:00pm - 4:30pm    
Thu 18 Oct 3:00pm - 4:30pm    
Thu 1 Nov 3:00pm - 4:30pm    
Thu 15 Nov 3:00pm - 4:30pm    
Thu 29 Nov 3:00pm - 4:30pm    

 Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to receive program updates

 

Education Menu

Alice Springs Campus Location


Flinders University



Charles Darwin University