Introduction to Aboriginal Cultures and Context
Centre for Remote Health

Introduction to Central Australian Aboriginal Cultures and Context

Who should attend 
This award winning one-day workshop is designed for people living and working in Central Australia or undertaking short term employment or study placements. 


About this course
The course explores cross cultural communications and introduces the concept of cultural safety and Indigenous Cultures in Central Australia.

It also outlines the health status of Indigenous peoples, the social determinants of health and how health influences all aspects of life.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of this course participants will be able to:

  • Identify the unique features of Central Australian context: demographic, historical, political and environmental
  • Identify principles of intercultural communication
  • Identify key elements of Aboriginal cultures, specifically kinship, language, worldview and identity, and diversity within and between cultures
  • Describe how the social determinants impact on the health and well-being of individuals and groups
  • Identify local Indigenous organisations within Central Australia including the support available from Aboriginal colleagues (Aboriginal Liaison Officers, Aboriginal Health Practitiioners, ACWs) and other key resource people
  • Recognise the stages of culture shock and how to respond to them. 

 

TEACHING EXCELLENCE AWARD WINNER

 

  2018 COURSE DETAILS
Location Alice Springs  
Cost $200 (Students attend at no charge) 
Dates Monday 22 January 
Monday 05 February 
Monday 05 March 
Monday 16 April
Tuesday 8 May
Monday 28 May
Tuesday 12 June 
Monday 25 June 
Monday 09 July
Monday 16 July
Monday 23 July
Monday 20 August
Monday 27 August 
Monday 03 September 
Monday 17 September 
Monday 24 September 
Monday 08 October 
Monday 15 October 
Monday 05 November
Monday 19 November
Facilitators
Barbara Richards
Kath Martin
Annie Farthing
Pat Ansell Dodds
 
Registration pdf Registration Form (435 KB)  
More Details pdf Course Flyer (541 KB)  
Enquiries This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

 

Comments from course participants
"Fantastic education session. Well presented. Extremely relevant" 
"Everything about the workshop was useful and explained thoroughly.
I learned a lot about Aboriginal culture"

 

Education Menu

Alice Springs Campus Location


Flinders University



Charles Darwin University