Introduction to Aboriginal Cultures and Context

Centre for Remote Health

Who should attend 
Bush medicines presentation at the Alice Springs Desert Park. Image: Jess LeeThis award winning one-day workshop is designed for people living and working in Central Australia or undertaking short term employment or study placements. 

About this course
The course explores cross cultural communications and introduces the concept of cultural safety and Indigenous Cultures in Central Australia.

It also outlines the health status of Indigenous peoples, the social determinants of health and how health influences all aspects of life.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of this course participants will be able to:

  • Identify the unique features of Central Australian context: demographic, historical, political and environmental
  • Identify principles of intercultural communication
  • Identify key elements of Aboriginal cultures, specifically kinship, language, worldview and identity, and diversity within and between cultures
  • Describe how the social determinants impact on the health and well-being of individuals and groups
  • Identify local Indigenous organisations within Central Australia including the support available from Aboriginal colleagues (Aboriginal Liaison Officers, Aboriginal Health Practitiioners, ACWs) and other key resource people
  • Recognise the stages of culture shock and how to respond to them. 

TEACHING EXCELLENCE AWARD WINNER

This course has limited availability with social distancing measures in place until further notice, in response to COVID-19

  2021 COURSE DETAILS
Location Centre for Remote Health
Corner of Skinner and Simpson Streets
Alice Springs
 
Cost $200 (Students attend at no charge)
Course Dates

2021

Monday 18 January
Monday 1st Feb
Monday 15th Feb
Monday 1 Mar 
Tuesday 2 Mar
Monday 29 Mar 
Monday 12 April 
Tuesday 27 Apr 
Monday 10 May
Friday 28 May 
Tuesday 15 June (full)
Monday 21 June (full)

 

Monday 5 July (full)
Monday 19 July (full)
Tuesday 3 August (full)
Monday 16 August (full)
Monday 30 August (full)
Monday 13 Sept (full)
Monday 27 Sept (full)
Monday 11 Oct (full)
Monday 25 Oct (full)
Monday 8 Nov (full)
Monday 22 Nov (full)

Time 8:30am - 4:30pm
Light lunch is provided
Facilitators
Barbara Richards
Annie Farthing
Robbie Charles
Pat Ansell Dodds
 
Registration pdf Registration Form (651 KB)  
More Details pdf Course Flyer (916 KB)  
Enquiries This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

Comments from course participants
"Fantastic education session. Well presented. Extremely relevant" 
"Everything about the workshop was useful and explained thoroughly"
I learned a lot about Aboriginal culture"